I AM AWESOME

Take one large onion. Marinate in the juice of four lemons for two hours. After the marinade, pour into non-reactive pot. Add three long hot peppers (seeded and with ribs removed), three cloves of garlic cut fine, and salt and pepper to taste. Add 1/4 cup oil and vinegar to taste (roughly 1/4-1/2 cup). Simmer 10 minutes. Cool, then dump into a blender and blend it. Makes precisely one fifth of product.

That’s right. I’m making my own hot sauce now. Because I am an awesome. Want extra style? Remove the label from am empty fifth of scotch and pour the sauce into it.

 The sauce I made today has a distinct vinegar flavour at first that is quickly superceded by the taste of hot peppers. I added too much vinegar before the simmering step, because I forgot that heat makes veggies expel water. So next time, less vinegar, more garlic, and some of those tiny insanity peppers that they sell by the kilo in the medina.

I never would have tried to make my own hot sauce in the US. I don’t think I tried it here because I’m in morocco, I think I did it because I don’t have a TV. The moral of this story is that making your own hot sauce is awesome and that Moroccan produce tastes 1000 times more flavorfull than produce in the US.

Leave a Reply

