Merry Christmas to All

I’m staying a t a comrades house for a few days to celebrate Christmas. He lives in a 4th floor apartment and has a balcony, and the doors were open last night. So as we were sitting, considering cracking open our Chritsmas presents to ourselves (some tall frosty pints) we hear music drifting up from the street. Someone is singing “Come all ye faithful.”

Now in Morocco, that’s a bit strange to hear. So we went down to check it out. From a distance, you know, just in case. It turns out that there is an international church here, and its members were going around to the homes of foreigners and singing Christmas carols. There were maybe 20 or 30 people and they were singing in French, Arabic, and English. Not simultaneously, I mean. They were actually about 2 blocks away.

It was pretty neat to see and really livened up the Christmas spirit around here.

Later tonight there’s a little get together in the old medina. Then tomorrow, I’m returning to Casablanca to go apartment hunting. This time, though, I’ve put my time in Fes to good use: I’ve used the internet to track down 20 leads on apartments. I don’t think I’ve got a prayer of living near the university, but I’ll cook that bird when I get to it.

So anyway, a Merry Christmas to all! Eat an extra whatever you guys eat at this time of year for me! Pookie, demolish that shrimp plate for me!

3 Responses to Merry Christmas to All

  1. Jameson says:

    Merry Christmas Aaron! Good luck with the apartment hunting. I think you should get a bike, but make sure to get someone to video tape it. I can’t imagine you on a bike.

  2. Kathy says:

    I ate extra gluten free cookies for you!

  3. Ed Anderson says:

    Merry Christmas!

    I second the idea of video taping you riding a bike. I think it’d be hilarious. Especially if it was one of those old-timey bikes with the huge back wheel and tiny front wheel. That + pointy waxed mustache… I’m sure you’d have it made then.

Leave a Reply

