Fes

Last thursday and friday were Moroccan Independance day, so the university was closed. Friday morning I got onto the train and went to Fes. Previously, I had left all of my heavy books and two delicate lanterns there because I didn’t want to schlep them all the way on the train. So I went to retrieve my stuff.

Friday night I crased on my friend’s couch and drank beer and watched The Office. It’s amazing, but I feel really at home in Fes than I do anywhere else. I think I might know more places to go here than in Philly. Saturday, I went shopping in the medina. My friend and I stopped the same Sufi guy’s store that I’ve written about previously. The one who spoke to us for and hour and was super nice. The same thing this time! He remembered my name and invited us to his house for dinner sometime.

Saturday night I got to see my other friend’s new house in the medina. These houses fascinate me. I now know at least 4 people renting houses there, and I am seriously considering drawing up floor plans the next time I visit them. The houses are amazing and I just want to know everything I can about them. For instance, David Amster’s site at Houseinfes.com has a pile of data on them.

Toay at the University, I gave an hour long presentation about my project in French. They seemed to understand all right, which means that I am an aesome king of languages. Pfft.

Also, I have figured out how to write arabic letters on my computer. Taking my notes and the three textbooks I have an re-writing the notes and stuff in my own language  will be an excellent way to study. I could also, theoretically, publish it (on the internet if nowhere else) as a layman’s grammar textbook. I even know what I would call it. Other books are called MRRHABA (welcome) or LABASS (how are you?) Mine will be called SHNOO THE HELL IS GOING ON IN HNA? I can’t teach grammar better than other people. But I can tell it with substantially more hilarity.

I’ve checked and can’t quite get a clear answer: does anyone know if it is legal or illegal to bring genuine ivory into the US? Like, ivory from elephant faces? No reason, uh, just curious.

5 Responses to Fes

  1. Kathy says:

    It is not usually illegal to bring it in to the U.S. so much as take it out of another country. For example you’re not supposed to take ivory from Russia. You would need to find out the Morroccan rules on removing ivory. Sometimes you can just pay a tax to remove it.

  2. Ed Anderson says:

    I’m pretty sure it’s illegal unless you can prove it’s 100 years old (and have documentation and all kindsa forms to that effect).

    You could always knock out your teeth and replace them with ivory, but that has the notable problem of having to dispose of those teeth.

    Either that or you could import ivory whole as trophies, but again you’d probably need about 2 boxes of paperwork and also the fact you’d have to, you know, go find and kill an elephant, heh.

  3. sakulich says:

    Well, then, I guess the question now becomes “Can Aaron swallow a kilogramme of ivory?” Assuming it’s still for sale the next time I go back to fes.

  4. Carly says:

    Not to be a know-it-all rule-follower but DC makes a person crazy for finding this stuff. Aaron:
    U.S. Customs Restrictions – What You Cannot Bring Back With You

    Some items may not be brought into the U.S., or may only be brought in under certain restrictions. For information on U.S. customs regulations and procedures, see the Customs and Border Protection booklet “Know Before You Go,” available at http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/travel/vacation/kbyg. For further information, see http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/travel/vacation/kbyg/prohibited_restricted.xml on the same website.

    There are special rules for products made from endangered wildlife. Many wildlife and wildlife products are prohibited either by U.S. or foreign laws from import into the United States, and you risk confiscation and a possible fine if you attempt to bring them into the U.S. when you return. Watch out for the following prohibited items:

    All products made from sea turtles
    All ivory, both Asian and African elephant, and rhinoceros
    Furs from spotted cats
    Furs from marine mammals
    Feathers and feather products from wild birds
    Most crocodile and caiman leather
    Most coral, whether in chunks or in jewelry
    You may import an object made of ivory if it is an antique. To be an antique the ivory must be at least 100 years old, and you will need documentation that authenticates the age of the ivory. You may import other antiques containing wildlife parts under the same conditions: they must be accompanied by documentation proving they are at least 100 years old. Certain other requirements for antiques may also apply.

    For more information, contact the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Division of Law Enforcement, P.O. Box 3247, Arlington, VA 22203-3247, or call 800-358-2104, or visit http://www.fws.gov/.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Felicitations pour avoir fait la presentation. Evidenment, je doit practiquer le francais, mais tu l’as deja fait parfaitment!

Leave a Reply

