The State of the Week

So this week the university had off for one of its many holidays. I spent that week in my apartment, doing a little review work and slowly going mad. I’ve been reading journal articles that I had stockpiled just for this cause, I tried to do a little diffractogram identification using the freaking rosetta stone of XRD analysis software (by which I mean functiuonal but OLD) and I reviewed some stuff on Design Of Experiment to try and come up with a good plan. But this has little comedy value.

So therefore, it occured to me that I should write the transcript of every cab ride I have ever taken in Morocco:

Me (all in arabic): Blvd. Emile Zola, please

Driver: Sure.

Me: How’s it going?

Driver: You speak Arabic?!

Me: A little. I try to speak as much as I can but I fear I do not know a lot.

Driver: Your Arabic is great! It’s great that you want to learn! Are you a Moslem?

Me: No.

Driver: (long pause) Are you married?

Me: No. American women have many problems.

Driver: (gives me a long, confused look in the mirror and then conspicuously turns up the radio.)

I’m not saying that this convesation has happened once. It happens every single time I get into a cab, without exception. I think as an unmarried non-christian they assume I am a crusader or a missionary or something. Anyway, it’s good practice in Arabic.

3 Responses to The State of the Week

  1. Kathy says:

    You are a crusader! A crusader for better buffalo wings and drain cleanser (er, beer). If there is one indelible you can leave on Casablanca, it should be to teach someone there how to make good Buffalo wings. Hell, if this whole PhD thing makes you crazy, start up a food cart with just Buffalo wings and beer in the Medina!

  2. sakulich says:

    I think that this is an excellent plan except for the fact that drinking beer in public in Morocco or, for that matter, having beer in your possession within 500 feet of a mosque is illegal here šŸ™‚ And since the medina was built in the old days, mosques were built so that everywhere in the medina can hear the call to prayer, which in old days was called out just by a simple loud voice. So the whole medina is off limits re: intoxicating liquids.

    Nowdays I should mention that all the mosques have loudspeakers, so they overlap quite a bit. From the one roof top cafe I fancy, cafe clock, (cafeclock.com) you can hear like 30 different mosques sounding the call to prayer if you time it right. Its actually quite lovely!

  3. Carly says:

    Thank you oh so very much for spreading the idea that we have many “problems”, whatever that means, throughout the land. šŸ˜› You will, by the way, have to teach me how to refute that in Arabic, Saint Buffalo Wings.

Leave a Reply

