An Open Letter to the People at Fodors

This is the first draft of a letter I am thinking of sending to the people at Fodors: 

Dear Fodors,

Your guide book for Morocco is a peice of garbage. Marrakesh is gone over with a fine tooth comb, and Fes and Casablanca are barely mentioned. Further, your restaurant reviews are crimes. You listed the restaurant Aeropostale in Casablanca as having a wide range of Belgian beers: 2 beers is not a wide range. And one of those two is Stella Artois, which is the Michelob of Belgium. Also, the price scale is insane. Aeropostale is listed as a “4 dollar sign” restaurant, but it is cheaper, generally, than some of the restaurants you gave 3 dollar signs. I wont even get into the fact that rating them with dollar signs, and not a hard number, is ridiculously impractical.

Your section on Fes is a joke. It’s a 1200 year old city teeming with interesting things to do and see, and you give it one tenth of the coverage that you give Marrakesh. I assume your main author for the Fes section is my esteemed colleague Mr. Wikipedia.

In short, your book is atrocious and I will never buy another fodors product for as long as I live. Further, I will vehemently discourage my comrades from doing so as well. Even if your book is cheaper, on sale, or even if it is being given away for free.

Love,

Aaron

2 Responses to An Open Letter to the People at Fodors

  1. Joe says:

    You may not like my book, but you at least have to give me props for my creative pen name “James Sonsucks.”

  2. Carly says:

    So, I take it I should chuck my guidebook and just rely on a 6’4″ be-fezzed Anti-Fodor? The book actually was on sale! Also, Stella is probably more the Natty Ice of Belgium. You do it an honor by dubbing it the Michelob. Have fun with Daddy Sakulich.

Leave a Reply

