Tangier: Back in the Game!

I’m back in the game.

I don’t know if it bleeds through into the blog posts, but I’ve been a bit bummed recently. The research is going slower than a turtle in a coma and what results I do eventually get aren’t so great. And, like all compulsive over-planners, that makes me worry.

So the university was closed this whole week. That means in 3 months, they’ve had 14 days of holidays. That’s more than 15% of the work weeks. Instead of sitting around my (newly internet capable) apartment and going stir crazy, I decided to put on my big boy pants and go to Tangier, the famous home of Tangerines and pirates, and visit some Fulbright comrades.

It was awesome. My spirits are recharged, and I’m ready to go in tomorrow and teach science a thing or two. Instead of one long, long post, I’m going to divide it up into smaller morsels. So keep reading! Tantailizing hint: I spent a large part of one day looking for a Rabies vaccine.

Tangier is situated on the most northern part of Morocco, just 9 miles south of Spain and Gibraltar. On a clear day, looking out over the absolute gorgeous mediterranean ocean, you can see Europe. At night, you can see the lights of Spain sparkling on the Horizon. Tangier wasn’t really ever part of a protectorate: instead it was declared an “Interzone” and was administered by a council from a dozen different countries (which did not include Morocco.) This made it famous as the international home of piracy and general shady dealings.

It was like being in a different country: everything is more spaced apart, there are trees everywhere, and there’s a lot more English and Spanish spoken. But it was more than that: it was fairly clean and there were bright, new-looking stores and restaurants everywhere. Even things like clothing and pirated DVDs were more plentiful, cheaper, and of better quality than I’ve found in Casablanca or Fes. If you told a blindfolded person you were in France or Germany or something, they could at first glance believe you. I can see why the tiny, black hearts of men have occasionally been captured by the place.

Anyway, more later.

One Response to Tangier: Back in the Game!

  1. Holzerman says:

    Did you best any Spaniards while there?

Leave a Reply

