Taniger: Romans and Rabies

So Friday was a pretty full day. I decided to go the Tangier Museum, up in what was once the fanciest part of the medina: The Casbah. The museum was awesome – I had no idea how to get there, and at one point ended up in an old portuguese fortress overlooking the mediterranean, but that was actually awesome, so what the hey.

The museum was awesome. Admission was $1.20 (but in Moroccan money) and it’s probably the most well stocked museum I’ve seen yet. I went clockwise through the exhibit rooms (the place is an old palace) though, so I started at the most recent artefacts and went backwards. Highlights of the day included a 7000 year old burial figurine (not an exaggeration – 5000 BC, so said the sign) and a mosaic floor stolen from Volubilis. It was sweet as hell, and not in the least because most of the thing was little mosaic topless chicks.

Anyway, on the way home I’m going down Rue de Casbah, when all of a sudden a freaking dog attacks me. It came up behind me and tried to hamstring me by sinking his filthy teeth into my back thigh. A guy with a shoe came out of nowhere and started beating it before I even realized what was going on, but it put a damper on the day for two reasons:

1 – I may now have rabies, hoof and mouth disease, mad cow disease, and/or dog herpes. And since it was friday all the pharmacists were at the mosque, and no one could tell me what to do.

2- I was totally prepared for a dog attack. I learned from a certain someone at Drexel what to do if a dog charges you: kick it in the face and kill it. But the thing came up behind me, I never got a chance to use my skills and that beautiful plan. How can I ever again face the Leper colony?

One Response to Taniger: Romans and Rabies

  1. Stephanie says:

    Glad to see that you’ve picked up the art of getting lost and finding cool stuff. Also I got bad advice on dog attacks too, I was told if you picked up rocks and threw them near it they would go away, but I was attacked by a pack s i couldn’t pretend hit all of them. Either that of the dogs in Kathmandu are used to getting stones thrown at them. Hope you don’t have rabies. That shot is unpleasant.

Leave a Reply

