Shoes. Weak.

So until next week I will be in Rabat for some sort of Dog and Pony show for Fulbright students. So I went to Maarif and thought I’d buy some shoes. I asked if they had a size 44, and in each store I got a different response. One guy just said no. The second guy laughed. The third guy gave my feet a startled stare. The fourth guy said “They don’t make these shoes in that size. Excuse me. They don’t make any shoes in that size.”

Anyway. I think I’m going to go fill myself with beer to celebrate my vein-dilating anger at the fact that Moroccans apparently have never seen a size 12 shoe before.

3 Responses to Shoes. Weak.

  1. Bethany says:

    I was trying on shoes at Nordstrom – where shoes abound – and when the guy asked what size and I answered 10, he snorted and waited for my “real” answer. Because women don’t wear size 10? Yeah, that kinda ended the flirtacious banter for me. Aside from the fact that I know several women who wear larger sizes…

  2. Kathy says:

    Would you like us to send you some shoes?

  3. Scott says:

    If Size 12 is so incredible a thing over there, I must be a veritable Moroccan Colossus of Rhodes.

Leave a Reply

