There Will be Boredom

So, I’ve been watching a lot of movies this week. I find it relaxing. But I have a compulsive disorder, and no matter how bad something is I can’t not finish it. And that explains why I watched There Will be Blood last night. I haven’t been at the Triangle for quite some time, so I won’t write a full review, but here are some just some quick thoughts about the film.

Of all the films with no plot, moral, or likeable characters that I’ve seen this year, I liked this one the most. I can only imagine that the orchestra, who spent the entire film tuning their instruments, went on to play some amazing music someplace else afterwards. The film is a little bit long, so I recommend doing something else while it is running in the background. What else could you do while this movie is playing? Well, you could learn Sanskrit. The ladies love Sanskrit. You could watch the entire original run of The Iron Chef. You could read War and Peace. Hell, you could probably write War and Peace. You could construct a ladder long enough to reach the moon. You could cure cancer.

Look, the point is that There Will be Blood is about 40 hours longer than it needs to be, I had at best apathy for every single character in it, and from an audio standpoint it’s like listening to a car rust in fast forward.

Do not watch There Will be Blood.

7 Responses to There Will be Boredom

  1. Alex says:

    “…it’s like listening to a car rust in fast forward.”

    HA!

  2. Scott says:

    I’m so very glad that even in Morocco, you still haven’t forgotten about Penny Arcade.

  3. carly says:

    Come on! You didn’t enjoy the celebration of dirty, curmudgeonly Oilmen? Who doesn’t think a movie based on an Upton Sinclair novel is a good idea? I thought everyone found hydrocarbons entertaining. 😉

  4. Bethany says:

    Well, now I have to watch that movie.

  5. sakulich says:

    What? No! Wrong! That’s the precise opposite of what you have to do. That’s the exact opposite of what you should do. It’s the last sentence of the post!

  6. Bethany says:

    You had me at ‘horrible score’. I only wish I could pay theater ticket prices!

  7. Holzerman says:

    oh teh noes! Now the indie-snob movie geeks will draw and quarter you for lambasting their favorite movie from last year!

    Whatever you do, don’t criticize No Country For Old Men. Then they’ll vaporize you.

Leave a Reply

