Odd.

So, at the university, when there’s a crime on campus, or a crime involving a student, we get an email about it. Last week some creep exposed himself to a young lady in the library, and when I got the bulletin in my email, I printed it out and hung it on the little tackboard next to my office. You know, just so that people know. Safety first and all that. A day later, it disappeared.

I thought that was strange, but maybe a custodian or something took it down. So, a few days ago, when a dude was hit in the face with a baseball bat over an iPod, I printed it out and hung it up. On the third day, as I was sitting in the office with the door open, someone took it down and slid it under the door with a little post-it note. The note said something along the lines of “every time there is a crime every single person in the university gets a copy of this bulletin so you see there’s not really any reason to hang it up so please stop doing it” in nice flowery handwriting.

This seems very strange to me. The other bulletin boards are used by professors to advertise the classes they teach, and by postdocs to show off what good taste in Dilbert comics they have. I mean, I guess the person was correct, there’s not a pressing need for me to hang up crime reports, but at the same time… I don’t know. This whole thing seems odd to me.

2 Responses to Odd.

  1. Anthony says:

    You should send it in to Passive-Aggressive Notes…. if it was.

  2. Bethany says:

    Probably because hi, why the hell are you taking my stuff down just because you don’t find it personally useful? Sock yourself in the face, please. (You can send my comment to Aggressive-Aggressive Notes, if it exists.)

Leave a Reply

