Food Gatherers

There’s an outfit up here called Food Gatherers. If English is your native tongue, you can pretty much guess what they do – they gather food. Restaurants and grocery stores donate food that looks like it’ll go bad before it sells (for instance, they get a lot of pies that are totally edible, but because they weren’t “baked fresh that morning” people in a supermarket would pass over them and go for the fresher ones) or things that they overstocked (like canned goods, etc.) I think they also have some farms and stuff, and the receive food from food drives and such.

They operate a soup kitchen that I volunteer at on Sundays. Suffice it to say that the people of Ann Arbor should be proud as hell. In Ann Arbor, a homeless guy can get free breakfast lunch and dinner every day of the week, every week of the year. I like the food gatherers way of doing things, because it also fights waste.

On the other hand, sometimes things come in that surprise me. On valentine’s day, I cut up a whole bunch of steaks. Today, I had to butcher some sides of beef to make steaks again. The other folks were butchering chickens and turkeys (at least we think that’s what it was – those might have been some monster turkeys.) I guess what I wonder is, what restaurant is ending up with a surplus of steaks that they then donate to the soup kitchen? Their supply guy should be fired. Or maybe it’s hard to predict how much steak a place is going to need during a week? I’m glad the food was donated to the soup kitchen, but seriously, I can’t help but wonder.

Anyway. The point is, I work there 2 hours a week. If everyone did even this trifling, tiny amount of volunteering, my brain boils over to imagine what we’d get done.

Leave a Reply

